Just a School Librarian

Thoughts of a Middle School Librarian

Cover Art: Don’t judge a book by its cover

Posted by CGibson on February 23, 2012


image source:  amazon.com

Last week I was shelving some books and weeding some other books and came across this title in my school library. I have only one copy, and no one has ever borrowed it. It didn’t even have a bar code. I sat down and read the back cover and was intrigued. I took it home (I love smuggling home library books) and was surprised just how the story gripped my attention.  It was so good I didn’t do my laundry until I was finished reading this lovely, well-written historical fiction.

 I’m not blogging about this book. I’m blogging here because I committed a librarian’s cardinal sin: I judged a book because of its cover art…and this particular cover just doesn’t appeal to me.

I know. I’m guilty.  I’m a visual person. A book’s cover art means a lot to me. Sorry.

This just reminds me how I must “sell” this book to my students, who also judge books by the cover art.

By the way, I did a bit of research of the cover artist Raul Colon, and was amazed to see so much beautiful art he has created. I hope you will check it out.

PS I’m going to order a few more copies of this title. Yep. It’s that good.

Leave a Reply

