Just a School Librarian

Thoughts of a Middle School Librarian

Kindle? Nook? iPad? Wah!

Posted by CGibson on January 8, 2011


When it comes to e-book readers, I just can’t decide which device to get. I’ve been sitting on the fence for the LONGEST time. My rear-end is getting numb. All of my friends have either a Kindle or a Nook. They love whatever device they have.

image source: http://www.digitaltrends.com/gadgets/kindle-vs-nook-an-e-reader-face-off/

I thought I would be satisfied with my little ol’ eReader app on my iPhone. The iPhone fits very nicely in my pocket and in my purse. The iPhone is my go-to device. I can read books, keep notes, browse the Internet, and call for my Chinese food delivery.

But I’m slowly going blind. Reading on my beloved iPhone is hard on the eyes.

So this brings me back to the Kindle or Nook dilemma.

The REAL dilemma here is this: How am I supposed to juggle more than one device??  I just don’t want to deal with a Kindle (or Nook) AND my iPhone. It’s just too much.

If I get an iPad, I can use it to read my eBooks and do all sorts of fun stuff. The iPad is a great device, but it weighs 1.6 lbs and is almost 10 inches in height. I don’t think I want that in my purse.

Enter the Galaxy Tab.

This particular tab weighs just 13 ounces and is only 7 inches in height. It weighs less and is smaller than the iPad.

If you think I’m splitting hairs between the iPad and the Tab, consider this: In my purse I carry house and car keys, make-up, iPhone, a fat wallet, and maybe a banana or apple. Those ounces add up. And I had shoulder surgery 2 years ago.

I’m giving myself until April before I decide which device to get. By then I should have my tax refund check in hand.

That weighs less than an ounce.

3 Responses to “Kindle? Nook? iPad? Wah!”

  1. Can you make calls with the Tab? If not, you have the same dilemma as with the iPad/Tab. I decided on the nook, mainly because I could get face-to-face support right here at the Barnes and Noble. I also like the lending feature and the nook’s ability to load books borrowed from the library. I must say that I have lusted over the iPad. It’s definitely the “Ooo! Shiney!” of techy toys. Haven’t looked at the Tab. Maybe you just need a bigger purse! ; D

    Hi there Heidi,
    Unfortunately the Tab doesn’t have a phone feature. 😦
    And oh! I didn’t know that the Nook supports borrowed library books!!!! Now I must hurry back to B&N to revist the Nook. I’m not crazy about having to purchase every book just to read it. I prefer to save my nickels and dimes for buying Power Purses!
    Thank you for stopping by my blog!

  2. updatetoo said

    Very interesting post I enjoy your website keep up the amazing posts.
    Thanks for stopping by. As of today I’m leaning towards buying an iPad2 and download a Nook app. I think…

  3. The Nook has easier PDF capabilities, which I need for E-ARCs. The Kindle is a better product if you don’t need PDF. I found the IPad a little cumbersome, but you could put both apps on it. Haven’t seen a tab. There’s also the eDGe, which is how I would have gone if I also wanted computing capabilities, just to make the choice even harder! http://www.entourageedge.com/entourage-edge.html

    Hello Ms. Yingling,
    Thank you for visiting my blog. I’ve decided to buy the new iPad2…I want to be able to use both Nook and Kindle apps.
    BTW, I’m looking at your blog right now. Very nice! It’s good to see what other middle school librarians are blogging about.

Leave a Reply

