Just a School Librarian

Thoughts of a Middle School Librarian

TMI or NET?

Posted by CGibson on February 15, 2010


This morning while drinking my coffee and scanning my twitter, Shelly Terrel tweeted something about Information Overload. Right away I flew over to see Lisa Thumann’s blog. Lisa had posted about a topic we deal with every day: Information Overload…I like to call it  Too Much Information (TMI).  TMI in your face.  Everyday, 24/7.

I like to compare TMI to the vast Pacific Ocean, and I am just a little cork bobbing along. Sometimes I can manage, and float along. Sometimes I get inundated by waves.

As I was reading Lisa’s blog post, it made me think back to a series of posts on  Shelly Terrel ‘s  blog. Shelly was blogging about goal- setting.  She wrote how important it is for us to keep our goals in sight.  Sounds good to me.

One of my goals for 2010 is to better manage my time.  I used to have a lot of time.  Now I don’t have enough time. Not Enough Time (NET). Where is all my time going? I multitask constantly. I can simultaneously do laundry+cook+wash dishes+twitter. Okay, I’ve burnt the rice a few times.

So what’s the real issue here, TMI or NET?

I don’t know about you, but I have this love/hate thing for TMI. Information fascinates me. Managing and sharing information fascinates me even more.

To harness all that INFORMATION,  Lisa mentions useful tools for information management:

  • Delicious
  • Diigo
  • Google Reader
  • Gmail
  • RSS

I really love my delicious and Google Reader.

But what about TIME?  How can you reclaim your time?

It’s simple. We have to stop wasting our time, and really begin to view our TIME as a precious commodity. We must manage it more efficiently.

When it comes to Time Management, one tool I just discovered is  HootSuite, which allows me to keep an eye on my four (yes four) Twitter accounts and two blogs.  You might also consider Netvibes. This allows you to arrange all your favorite stuff in one place.  I’ve also downloaded Awesome Note, an app on my iPhone. With this cool little app, you can create daily To-Do lists, and everything is right there on your iPhone. I like to check things off during the course of the day, so I can actually see what get done.

Now here are some strategies for Time Management:

  • First and foremost, stay hydrated. Yep. Hydration is important.  Try to drink at least 2 liters of water each day. When we are dehydrated, our thinking becomes cloudy and we get frazzled. Not good when you want to stay on top of things.
  • Save time at home by preparing your dinners in advance. Use your slow-cooker to cook while you are doing other chores.
  • Bring your lunch to work. This will save time at the job. BTW, I lost almost 15 pounds in one year because I stopped eating “outside lunches”.
  • At work, I try to touch any piece of paper just once. After I read it, I will either throw it away, file it away, or do what I’m supposed to do and then throw it away.
  • When I take the bus to work, I use my iPhone to read a book, tweet, or listen to an audiobook.
  • As mentioned before, I multitask like crazy.
  • Innovate to find family time. My husband is a shameless TV junkie. He used to complain how I worked upstairs while he watched TV downstairs. But the background TV noise distracted me from working. So we compromised. Now I bring my laptop and sit with him on the sofa, and block out the TV sounds by listening to White Noise on my iPhone.
  • I try to set a 5-10 minute limit on my Twitter (no small task).

It’s so important to maximize our time. It’s also important to manage all the information in a way so we won’t drown in it.

I hope some of these tips will help you. I also want to hear what  strategies you use. After all, I’m just a school librarian. 😉

source of image: http://animals.howstuffworks.com/pets/dogs-perceive-time.htm

One Response to “TMI or NET?”

  1. Great suggestions. I’m not sure if you can get the full benefit of Twitter if you’re only spending 5-10 on it per day. Perhaps you mean 5-10 minutes at a time. My wife is a huge tv junkie as well, so it sounds like my evenings are similar to yours, with the roles reversed.
    Hi Chad,
    Thanks for stopping by. As for twitter, I meant I want to spend only 5-10 minutes at a time. I love my PLN on my professional twitter account. 🙂

Leave a Reply

