Just a School Librarian

Thoughts of a Middle School Librarian

A Teacher’s Pet Peeve? A rose by any other name.

Posted by CGibson on February 7, 2010


I have a few pet peeves. I try to keep them in check. Really.

But at school, I have one pet peeve that never fails to irk me: I hate it when students call me “Miss”.

“Miss, is the library open?”

“Miss, what time is it?”

“Miss, I need a hall pass.”

In my school, all the students call their teachers “Miss” or “Mister.”

No names.

And I don’t see the teachers doing anything about this.

I INSIST my students call me by name, Miss Gibson.

Please don’t tell me you “forgot” my name. My name is posted on my desk. It’s posted on the wall. I’m considering wearing a name tag, for crying out loud!

I begin each class session reminding students my name and I make them greet me “Good afternoon Miss Gibson.

There are over 600 students in my school. I make it my business to learn everyone’s names. If I can’t remember your name, then I will ask because I want to know your name.

I don’t want to call you Boy, or Girl.

So please don’t call me Miss.

Now you must think I’m crazy because of this pet peeve.

But you know what? If I don’t expect students the small task of remembering my name, then how can I expect them to perform other, more “complicated” tasks: bring your own pencil, bring your own paper, complete your assignments, and return library materials…

What are YOUR pet peeves? I want to know. After all, I’m just a school librarian. 😉

photo source: http://www.boston.com/ae/theater_arts/exhibitionist/miniature-rose-1.jpg

3 Responses to “A Teacher’s Pet Peeve? A rose by any other name.”

  1. I like it. You should be called by your name – it is a term of respect and a differentiation between you and students. I have a difficult time remembering names but I try hard. I really do. My pet peeve? Doctors and Dentists who come flying into the exam room and call me by my first name as if they’ve known me all my life but demand I call them Doctor. I’ve known my family doc for a number of years and one time he came flying in and said, Hi Linda what’s up? I replied, “Well, Robb today kinda sucks.” He about fell on the floor laughing. There is a time and place for titles and etiquette and I am in favor of both. Then again, I’d love to be called Miss – I’m usually referred to as “Ma’am.” sigh.

    Now, you know me – so I won’t list anymore pet peeves on this site. LOLHi Linda!

    I appreciate your visit and your comment. You must be the only person reading my blog. LOL I hope you are feeling better. Tweet ya later.

  2. callmemiss said

    Hooray for Miss Gibson! A proud “Miss” and not a “Ms.” Good for you.
    Thanks for dropping by my blog!

  3. I’m into pet peeves and pet hates too – big time! If you’re interested, you might check out my cartoon blog at http://www.cartoonsbysheila.wordpress.com
    Cheers, Sheila

Leave a Reply

